Select Page

Advances in Data Science and AI Conference 2022

Our conference returned in June 2022 as the Advances in Data Science and AI conference and was held online and in Manchester.

After physical events in 2017, 2018 and 2019 and a quickly re-designed online event in 2020, we took a break in 2021 as the pandemic uncertainty continued.

The 2022 Advances in Data Science and AI conference took place on 20 and 21 June at The University of Manchester, with 250 delegates joining online and in person to hear 21 talks, a panel session on ethics in AI, see poster presentations and to meet other data science and AI experts from around the world.

Conference topics included:

  • Explainable and causal approaches to AI
  • Ethical and responsible AI
  • Explainable AI and Natural Language Processing
  • AI for Health


  • Virginia Aglietti, Deepmind
  • Nikolaos Aletras, Lecturer in Natural Language Processing, The University of Sheffield
  • Umang Bhatt, University of Cambridge and The Alan Turing Institute
  • Tianyu Cui, Aalto University
  • Sylvie Delacroix, University of Birmingham
  • Melanie F. Pradier, Microsoft Research
  • Louis Filstroff, Aalto University
  • Darminder Ghataoura, Fujitsu
  • Youngmin Kim, The University of Manchester
  • Arthur Leroy, The University of Sheffield
  • David Leslie, Director for Ethical and Trustworthy AI, The Alan Turing Institute
  • Sijia Li, University of Leeds
  • Christina Lioma, Professor in Computer Science, University of Copenhagen
  • Matthew Lyon, The University of Manchester
  • André Martins, Associate Professor, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Lisbon
  • Christopher McGreavy, Aalto University
  • Naoaki Okazaki, Professor, Okazaki Lab, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  • Tom Quilter, Pinpoint Learning
  • Federico Tavella, The University of Manchester
  • Benediktas Valys, The University of Sheffield
  • Alfredo Vellido, Polytechnic University of Catalonia

You can see the schedule, including talk titles, here.

For more details about the speakers and their talks, visit our speakers’ page.